By PR Works | 07:23 AM April 30, 2022

A total of 92 stories from media practitioners and content creators in Visayas and Mindanao have made it to the 9th Globe Media Excellence Awards (GMEA) roster of finalists, showing exemplary work in telling compelling, rich stories that influence this challenging period.

This year, GMEA received over 500 entries from Visayas and Mindanao. Of the submitted works, 49 were chosen as finalists for Visayas and 43 for Mindanao. Initially open to select major cities in the region, GMEA has since expanded its reach to more areas with finalists coming from Tacloban, Dipolog, and Bukidnon.  

“GMEA has gone through many changes in the past 8 years. On our 9th year, we are proud to have received entries from more media practitioners and content creators. This shows how much the news and its delivery have also evolved. As we look forward to the 10th year milestone, we hope many more storytellers will join us in advocating for impactful storytelling,” said Yoly Crisanto, SVP Group Corporate Communications and Chief Sustainability Officer at Globe.

Finalists will be vying for nine awards for digital and print, two for broadcast, and three special awards.  With the theme “#PadayonDigital: Uplifting Lives Through Digital Technology,” this year’s GMEA recognizes the importance of digital platforms in delivering relevant news and content to the public. It also celebrates the dedication of the media, considered as modern-day heroes that inspire positive change, make a difference,  and carry the country to a more hopeful tomorrow.

The 9th GMEA screeners include esteemed members of the academe and communications specialists: 

Henry Abellanosa – Program Director of BA Communication at Liceo de Cagayan University

Dr. Mary Shieldred Angeles -Associate Professor at Ateneo de Zamboanga University

Dr. Maria Teresa Asistido – Program Head and Institute of Languages and Director of the Office of External Affairs & Linkages at STI West Negros University

Sylvie Agravante – Proprietor and Head Instructor at GSA Learning Center

Dr. Josyl Aquilam – Associate Professor of Communication Arts at Ateneo de Davao University

Mila Mae Caballero – Chair of the Journalism and Communications Department at University of San Jose Recoletos

Rhoda Campillan – Academic Supervisor of AB Communication at University of San Agustin

Dr. Lito Diones – Professor in the Graduate & Undergraduate Studies Department of Languages and Literature at Cebu Normal University

Jon Joaquin – Communications Consultant 

Dr. Manuelito Dabalos – Board Officer of the Council of Deans of Arts and Sciences in Region 10 

Kenth Jaype – Journalism Instructor at Negros Occidental High School

Atty. Ian Vincent Manticajon – Senior Lecturer of Communication & Media Laws and Ethics at University of the Philippines Cebu

Mia Embalzado Mateo – Assistant Professor at University of the Philippines Cebu

John David Moncado – Faculty/Dept Coordinator of the Department of Technology and Communication Management at University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines

Kirk Rocensvalles – Program Head of the School of Design & Communication at Southwestern University PHINMA

Bernadette Parco – News Producer and Senior Desk Editor at GMA News Online

Mary Rose Ofianga – Senior Project Manager at

Ashley Uy – Product Manager at Plentina

Merle Dawn Comidoy-Acol – Instructor at the Department of Humanities University of the Philippines Mindanao

Dr. Zoilo Andrada Jr. – Associate Professor of College of Arts & Sciences at University of the Philippines Visayas, Miag-ao

Prof. Jason Baguia – Doctoral Researcher and Faculty of Human Sciences at Catholic University of Portugal Lisbon, Portugal

Vanessa Almeda – Information Officer of the Securities and Exchange Commission Region 7

Zsa Zsa Bacaling – Chair, Broadcasting Division of the College of Communication at West Visayas State University

Rechelle Ann Barraquias – Chairperson of the Development Communication Program at Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan

Publio Briones – Consultant at the Cebu Provincial Government

Ena Marie Dizon – Instructor of Communication and Media Arts Program at University of the Philippines Mindanao

Dr. Sheryl Satorre-Estella – Co-Founder of BOSINA Studios consultancy for Digital Marketing

Shad Roi dela Cruz – Head of Growth & Partnerships of Spenmo Philippines

Dr. Ian Espada – Dean of College of Communication at West Visayas State University

Lyra Ko – Associate Professor at the Malayan Colleges Mindanao

Gerthrode Charlotte Mabilog – Faculty of the Division of Professional Education at University of the Philippines Visayas

Liberty Pinili – Senior Corporate Communications Manager at Vivant Power Corporation

Cris Evert Lato-Ruffolo – Independent Journalist  and Content Strategist for Publications & Companies in the Philippines, China, Singapore and Malaysia

Dr. Ramir Philip Jones Sonsona – Chair of the Department of Teaching Languages and Special Education at University of Science and Tech of Southern Philippines

Joeven Tansi – Chair of the  Department of Teaching Languages and Special Education at University of Science and Tech of Southern Philippines

Dr. Joseph Elvir Tubilan – Chair of the Department of Communication and Media Studies at Cebu Normal University

Nicole Macarasig Padin – Product Owner of Branchify

The roster of judges include digital marketing executives and sustainability advocates and officers:

Auke Idzenga –  Chief Executive Officer of the Alternative Indigenous Development Foundation Inc.

Ahmed Cuizon – Regional Director of LTFRB 3

Quark Henares – Head of Anima (Formerly Globe Studios)

Fayette Riñen – Director at the Philippine Information Agency Region 7

Atty. Jocelle Batapa-Sigue – Co-founder and President of the National ICT Confederation of the Philippines

Marivir Montebon – Board Member and Past President of the Filipino American Press Club of New York 

Janella Mae Soberano – Corporate Communications and Customer Relations Head of Cebu Landmasters, Inc.

Charlito Kaloy Manlupig – Founder & President of Balay Mindanaw Foundation Inc.

Dr. Rhodora Bucoy – Board Member of the UP Center for Women’s Studies Foundation Inc.

Dave Overton – Founder and CEO of Symph

Edicio dela Torre – Chairperson of the Education for Life Foundation

Marriz Agbon – President and Managing Director of Surya Source Energy Inc.

Miko David – Co-Founder of David and Golyat

The grand awarding ceremony will be held through a virtual event on May 6, 2022 and streamed live via GlobeICON on Facebook. Visit for the complete list of finalists. 

By Bohol Island News

Your reliable source of news and content in the island and the rest of Central Visayas and Mindanao.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: