By J. Jala | 09:09 PM March 27, 2021
Metro Manila. Photo: Benjie Talisic

The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) has placed Metro Manila and four provinces — Cavite, Bulacan, Rizal, and Laguna–in a one-week enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) due to Covid-19 surge.

Palace spokesman Harry Roque announced Saturday that IATF has imposed a 6 p.m. to 5 a.m. curfew in Metro Manila, Cavite, Bulacan, Laguna, and Rizal starting Monday, March 29 until Sunday, April 4.

“Mas pinaigting din po ang oras ng curfew sa Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, Riza at NCR. Ang ating curfew po ay mula 6 p.m. hanggang 5 a.m., ” Roque made the announcement over state-run PTV.

This comes a week after the government placed Metro Manila and the four adjacent provinces, known collectively as the “Greater Manila Area” under a general community quarantine (GCQ) bubble from March 22 to April 4.

During the implementation of the ECQ, a curfew from 10 p.m. to 5 a.m. will also be enforced.

The government task force issued the new mandate as the country reels from a surge in Covid-19 cases. As of March 27, the Philippines recorded 9,595 additional cases, driving the active infections to 118,112.

Roque said the national government has assured that financial aid will be given to areas under enhanced community quarantine.

The amount of the assistance and how it can be disbursed, however, are yet to be finalized.

Financial aid was already given in 2020, the first time that some parts of the country were put under ECQ, during the start of the Covid-19 pandemic. With reports from Inquirer and CNN

By Bohol Island News

Your reliable source of news and content in the island and the rest of Central Visayas and Mindanao.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: