By J. Jala | 07:00 PM March 07, 2021
Pope Francis. Photo: Pixabay

Pope Francis will lead a Mass at Saint Peter’s Basilica on March 14 for the celebration of 500 years of Christianity in the Philippines.

According to Scalabrinian priest Father Ricky Gente of the Filipino Chaplaincy in Rome, the mass will be at 10am (Rome time) or 5pm (Manila Time) (1pm in UAE Time) on March 14, Sunday.

“Join us in Rome to pray, praise, and thank God for his gift of the Christian faith,” Gente said in a report by the news service of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of the Philippines (CBCP).

The same report said the Mass will be attended by Cardinal Luis Antonio Tagle, prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples, who is also former Manila archbishop, and Cardinal Angelo De Donatis, the Vicar of Rome.

CBCP News reported that there will only be a limited people that will be allowed to attend the Mass inside Saint Peter’s Basilica because of COVID-19 restrictions.

This will be livestreamed to reach Filipinos around the world.

By Bohol Island News

Your reliable source of news and content in the island and the rest of Central Visayas and Mindanao.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.