By J. Jala | 11:00 PM January 06, 2021
Ninoy Aquino International Airport. Photo: NAIA

The Philippines has imposed travel restrictions to six more countries in an effort to prevent the transmission of a new Covid-19 variant, Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said Wednesday, Jan. 6, 2021.

Roque identified the six countries as Portugal, India, Finland, Norway, Jordan, and Brazil.

“In this regard, foreign passengers coming from or who have been to Portugal, India, Finland, Norway, Jordan, and Brazil within 14 days immediately preceding arrival in the Philippines, shall be prohibited from entering the country effective January 8, 2021, 12:01 AM, Manila time, until January 15, 2021,” Roque said.

Travelers, foreign or Filipino citizens, who have been to the aforementioned countries within 14 days before arrival in the Philippines shall be allowed entry, provided they undergo a strict 14-day quarantine regardless of a negative swab test result.

The new Covid-19 variant was first detected in the United Kingdom, which has since been covered by Philippine travel restrictions. The curbs also cover the US and 19 other territories- United Kingdom, United States, Denmark, Ireland, Japan, Australia, Israel, The Netherlands, Hong Kong, SAR, Switzerland, France, Germany
Iceland, Italy, Lebanon, Singapore, Sweden, South Korea, South Africa, Canada and Spain.

By Bohol Island News

Your reliable source of news and content in the island and the rest of Central Visayas and Mindanao.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.