By J. Jala | 10:18 PM January 01, 2021
Ninoy Aquino International Airport before the pandemic. Photo: NAIA

The Philippines will prohibit the entry of foreign travellers from the United States effective Jan 3, President Rodrigo Duterte’s spokesman said on Friday (Jan 1), after the more infectious new variant of the coronavirus was detected in Florida.

Spokesman Harry Roque said in a statement that the travel ban, which will last until January 15, covers those who have been to the United States within 14 days preceding arrival in the Philippines.

The measure expands the travel restriction that Manila announced on Tuesday, which initially covered passengers from 19 countries and territories and took effect from midnight of December 29.

US state health officials have detected in Florida the new variant of Covid-19, which has swept through the United Kingdom, marking the third known US state to identify such a case.

Roque said the Office of the President decided to include the United States in the regulation on the recommendation of the health and foreign affairs departments.

Passengers from the United States who arrive before January 3 will be allowed to enter the Philippines, but they must to undergo a 14-day quarantine even if they had initially tested negative.

The restriction does not cover Filipinos travelling from the United States but they are also required to undergo a 14-day quarantine in a government facility when they arrive.

The new Covid-19 variant has not been detected in the Philippines.

By Bohol Island News

Your reliable source of news and content in the island and the rest of Central Visayas and Mindanao.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.