Sec. Dino to lead torch relay in Cebu for SEA Games

PR | Posted on Oct. 29, 2019 at 9:52 a.m.

Southeast Asian Games Head for Torch Sandra Dy (second from the right) and SEA Games Organizing Committee Ceremonies Director Mike Aguilar (Rightmost) and  discussed to (L-R) Herty Lopez, OPAV information officer; Cebu City Councilor Raymond Garcia; Secretary Michael Lloyd Dino; and Cebu City Mayor Edgardo Labella the activities of the upcoming torch relay ceremonies in Cebu on November 16. (Photo courtesy of OPAV)

Secretary Michael Lloyd Dino will lead the Cebu leg of the ceremonial torch relay during the  upcoming 30th Southeast Asian (SEA) Games this November and December.

He will be joined by Cebu City Mayor Edgardo Labella and eight other personalities and prominent athletes personally picked by the Philippine SEA Games Organizing Committee.

The Committee is planning to conduct a ceremonial torch relay all around the Philippines prior to the start of every leg in each region. For Visayas, the torch relay will happen in Cebu on November 16. 

According to Sandra Dy, Committee member and head for the torch relay of the 30th SEA Games, there will be 10 torch bearers who will be joined by 2,500 runners as they pass the torch until it reaches Cebuano Marathon Queen Mary Joy Tabal who will be the last torch bearer.

The run will have a stretch of 5-kilometers and will happen within the vicinity of SM Seaside at the South Road Properties.

The 5-km. run will be participated in by students, policemen, army, and government employees. Dy added that the run is free, and that participants will be given free T-shirts as well. Gun starts at 5PM and will be followed by a short lighting ceremony and a program.

“This momentous event will mark another history for our country, as host of the Southeast Asian games, and will foster even more brotherhood and camaraderie with other neighboring countries through sports,” said Secretary Dino.

The 30th SEA Games scheduled from Nov. 30 to Dec. 11 will be joined by 11 nations – Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste and Vietnam. 56 sports competitions will be spread over four venue clusters in Clark, Subic, Manila and Tagaytay.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: