By J. Jala | 11:53 PM February 21, 2021
Image: Pagasa

The Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) said Tropical Storm Auring has weakened to a tropical depression on Sunday night, Feb. 21, 2021.

At 10 p. m., Auring’s center was located 210 km East of Surigao City, Surigao del Norte.

Pagasa said Auring has packed maximum sustained winds of 55 kilometers per hour (kph) with gusts of up to 70 kph. It was moving west northwest at 15 kph.

The state weather bureau noted “AURING” is forecast to continue moving generally northwestward in the next 24 hours. On the forecast track and its probability cone, the tropical depression may initially make landfall over the Dinagat Islands-Eastern Samar (southern portion including Homonhon Island)-Leyte area in the next 6 to 12 hours.
• • There is an increasing likelihood that “AURING” will further weaken before it makes landfall due to persistent high vertical wind shear associated with the surge of the Northeast Monsoon. Post-landfall, “AURING” is forecast to weaken considerably due to significant terrain interaction and the increasing wind shear, leading to deterioration into a remnant low within 24 hours, possibly sooner.

The tropical cyclone warning signal earlier hoisted in other areas is hereby lifted.

Image: Pagasa

Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal No. 1 remains hoisted in the following areas:

Sorsogon, Masbate including Ticao and Burias Islands, Albay, Catanduanes, and the eastern portion of Camarines Sur (Caramoan, Presentacion, Sagnay, Buhi, Iriga City, Nabua, Bato, Balatan)

Northern Samar, Eastern Samar, Samar, Biliran, Leyte, Southern Leyte, Bohol, Cebu, Siquijor, the northern and eastern portions of Negros Oriental (Dumaguete City, Sibulan, San Jose, Amlan, Pamplona, Tanjay City, Bais City, Manjuyod, Bindoy, Ayungon, Tayasan, Jimalalud, La Libertad, Guihulngan City, Canlaon City, Vallehermoso), the northern and central portions of Negros Occidental (Binalbagan, Isabela, Moises Padilla, La Castellana, La Carlota City, Bago City, Pontevedra, Hinigaran, San Enrique, Valladolid, Pulupandan, Murcia, San Carlos City, Bacolod City, Salvador Benedicto, Calatrava, Talisay City, Silay City, Enrique B. Magalona, Victorias City, Manapla, Cadiz City, Sagay City, Escalante City, Toboso), the eastern portion of Iloilo (Dumangas, Barotac Nuevo, Anilao, San Rafael, Barotac Viejo, Banate, Passi City, San Enrique, Dingle, Lemery, Ajuy, Sara, Concepcion, San Dionisio, Batad, Estancia, Balasan, Carles), and the eastern portion of Capiz (Cuartero, Dumarao, Ma-Ayon, Pontevedra, Panay, President Roxas, Panitan, Dao, Pilar)

Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, the northern portion of Surigao del Sur (Lianga, Barobo, San Agustin, Marihatag, Cagwait, Bayabas, Tago, San Miguel, Tandag City, Cortes, Lanuza, Carmen, Madrid, Cantilan, Carrascal), Agusan del Norte, the northern portion of Agusan del Sur (Bayugan City, Prosperidad, Sibagat), the eastern portion of Misamis Oriental (Gingoog City, Magsaysay, Medina, Talisayan, Claveria, Balingasag, Lagonglong, Balingoan, Kinoguitan, Sugbongcogon, Binuangan, Salay), and Camiguin.

By Bohol Island News

Your reliable source of news and content in the island and the rest of Central Visayas and Mindanao.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: