By Ric Obedencio | 12:01 PM November 09, 2022

The Sanggniang Panlalawigan of Bohol has expressed its favor in dividing the province’s existing three congressional districts into five by approving a Resolution endorsing such move.

This came after ex-officio Board Member Gloria Gementiza proposed for the said re-districting in her privilege speech during the Nov. 8 regular session presided over by Vice-Gov. Victor Balite.

Gementiza, Philippine Councilors League (PCL) Bohol chapter president, cited as legal basis of her proposal section 5, Article 6 of the 1987 Philippine Constitution, providing that the re-apportionment of towns to congressional districts shall be adjacent and compact territory among others.

She pointed out that redistricting “will promote representative democracy and result to economic and social progress of our province.”

She told her colleagues that the PCL has already expressed its favor and support to the district’s reapportionment.

In her speech, she also urged the three Boholano solons, Representatives Edgar M. Chatto (1st district), Maria Vanessa C. Aumentado (2nd dist) and Alexie B. Tutor (3rd dist) to cause the redistricting of Bohol.

In her proposal, Gementiza cited the following apportionment of towns to five districts, namely:

First District to be composed of Panglao, Dauis, Baclayon, Alburquerque, Corella, Sikatuna, Cortes, Maribojoc and Tagbilaran City. Second district: Balilihan, Antequera, Loon, San Isidro, Tubigon, Clarin, Inabanga and Buenavista; and Third district: Getafe, Talibon, Bien-Unido, Trinidad, San Miguel, Ubay and Pres. Carlos P.Garcia.

Fourth District: Jagna, Duero, Guindulman, Anda, Candijay, Mabini, Alicia, Pilar, Sierra-Bullones, and Dagohoy; and Fifth district: Loay, Lila, Dimiao, Valencia, Garcia-Hernandez, Loboc, Sevilla, Bilar, Batuan, Carmen, Sagbayan, Catigban and Danao.

But she did not indicate the number of population of each proposed district.

Earlier, the Liga ng mga Barangay (LnB) has passed a Resolution supporting the earlier moves of Tutor and then congressman Aris Aumetnado for the redistricting Bohol into five districts.

The League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP) Bohol chapter also do the same but it was not immediately known if the newly-installed LMP leadership under president Buenavista Mayor Atty. Dave D. Duallo still in favor of the redistricting. (rvo)

By Bohol Island News

Your reliable source of news and content in the island and the rest of Central Visayas and Mindanao.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: