By Helen Castano, Marisol Bo-oc | 05:10 PM October 04, 2020
Lutgardo Labad. Photo: Lutgardo Labad Facebook

Cultural worker, theater guru and heritage promoter Lutgardo Luza Labad leads this year’s recipients of the Glory Awards for arts and culture advocacy.

This year’s honorees, selected by a jury of their peers, also include Dr. Rey de la Cruz (special education), Dr. Monina Movido-Escalada (development communication) and Criselda Yabes (literary journalism).

Bestowed annually by the UP College of Mass Communication Alumni Association (UPCMCAA), the Glory Awards honor the alumni whose work goes beyond “the usual” consistent track record of excellence.

Jose “Jing” Magsaysay, broadcast news veteran and Glory awards juror, explains: ”Excellence in craft becomes only meaningful when it inspires others and drives them to excellence.”

Aside from Magsaysay, the other jurors were UPCMC dean and film professor Dr. Arminda Santiago; UPCMC communication research department chairperson Dr. Julienne Thesa Baldo-Cubelo; PR expert and former UP vice president for public affairs Tessa Jazmines; writer-director and 2019 Glory awardee Floy Quintos; film and TV director, writer and educator Jose Javier Reyes; and 2018 Glory awardee Luz Rimban, executive director of the Asian Center for Journalism at the Ateneo de Manila University.

Alumni association president Malou Choa Fagar announced that due to the continuing public health crisis, the Glory awards presentation on November 14 will take place in a virtual environment.

The Glory Awards were inspired by the legacy of honor and excellence of Dr. Gloria Feliciano, the founding dean of UP mass communication programs, who served from 1965 to 1985.

Lutgardo Labad has been recognized nationally and internationally as a theater artist, teacher, cultural worker, and arts & heritage promoter. He was instrumental in developing the creative arts and theatre curriculum of the Philippine Educational Theater Association.

As PETA’s pedagogy and artistic director for 25 years, he conducted workshops for disadvantaged provincial communities, the urban poor, and the indigenous peoples of Mindanao. Labad is most well-known as a musical scorer who won nine awards for his work in cinema classics like Tinimbang Ka Ngunit Kulang (1974), Ganito Kami Noon, Paano Kayo Ngayon? (1976) Pakawalan Mo Ako (1982), Bilangin Ang Mga Bituin sa Langit (1990), Magnifico (2004), and Naglalayag (2004).

After deciding to settle in his home province of Bohol in 1994, “Gardy” organized community theater groups across the Visayas to make them integral components of sustainable development thrusts, especially in ecological and cultural tourism.

He received the Galing Pook award for best local government unit cultural program and was honored by Philstage with a lifetime achievement award in theater in 2019.

He chaired the dramatic arts committee of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts and is the international staging director and impresario of the world-famous Loboc Children’s Choir.

By Bohol Island News

Your reliable source of news and content in the island and the rest of Central Visayas and Mindanao.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.